## LEGAL NOTICE NOTICE OF ELECTION – CITY OF EL PASO

RESOLUTION CALLING FOR A RUNOFF ELECTION ON JUNE 9, 2007 FROM THE 2007 GENERAL ELECTION IN THE CITY OF EL PASO FOR AN ELECTION OF AN OFFICER.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EL PASO:

- 1. On Saturday, June 9, 2007, a runoff election will be held by the City of El Paso, at El Paso, Texas, for the purpose of electing the following named officer of the City of El Paso: District Representative No. 5
- 2. The election shall be held at the polling places designated in Exhibit "A" attached hereto and made a part hereof for all purposes, and said polling places shall open at 7 a.m. and remain open until 7 p.m. on the day of the election.
- 3. The City Clerk of the City of El Paso shall be the Clerk for early voting for said election and the County Elections Administrator, Ms. Helen Jamison, is appointed as the Deputy Clerk for early voting. Her address is:

Ms. Helen Jamison Deputy Early Voting Clerk 500 E. San Antonio, Room 402 El Paso, Texas 79901

The County Courthouse is hereby designated as the early voting station for such election. In addition, the following branch offices for early voting on the days determined by the County Elections Department by personal appearance shall be authorized for such election, and/or any locations that might be added or changed by the County Elections Department, and hours for early voting by personal appearance shall be authorized for such election:

(Early voting shall be held weekdays from Tuesday, May 29. 2007 through Tuesday, June 5, 2007. There is NO voting on Saturday June 2, 2007 and Sunday June 3, 2007. The hours for early voting at each early voting location are as noted below.)

Location: Hours of voting:

weekdays -- 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, with expanded hours a) Courthouse 500 E. San Antonio Ave Monday, June 4, 2007 and Tuesday, June 5, 2007 –

7:00 am - 7:00 pm

b) Dieter Plaza Shopping Strip weekdays 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, with expanded hours 1605 George Dieter

Monday, June 4, 2007 and Tuesday, June 5, 2007 –

7:00 am - 7:00 pm

c) Vista Hills Shopping Center, #302 weekdays -- 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, with expanded hours 1840 Lee Trevino Monday, June 4, 2007 and Tuesday, June 5, 2007 –

7:00 am - 7:00 pm

In addition, the City Clerk is authorized to make and corrections or revisions regarding the early voting locations, and the dates and times for such voting, as recommended by the El Paso County Elections Administrator.

- 4. The special canvassing board and election officials appointed for the May 12, 2007 general election shall be reappointed for the runoff election and the Mayor is authorized to approve of any necessary personnel changes upon receipt of notice from the County Elections Administrator.
- 5. Voting of the Election, and early voting therefore, shall be by the use of lawfully approved voting systems and ballots.
- 6. Such election shall be held in the manner and form prescribed by the laws of the State of Texas. The qualified voters who reside in the City of El Paso who reside in Representative District No. 5 shall vote for the Representative in this district.
- 7. By approving and signing this resolution, the Mayor officially confirms as his action all matters recited herein which by law come within his jurisdiction.
  - 8. A substantial copy hereof shall serve as notice of said election.

9. The City Clerk shall give notice of such election by posting a copy of such notice in English and Spanish in the Office of the City Clerk and by publishing a copy of said notice in both English and Spanish in the official newspaper of the City as required by law.

WITNESS the following signatures and seal this 18<sup>th</sup> day of May 2007.

THE CITY OF EL PASO, TEXAS

/s/

John F. Cook, Mayor

ATTEST:

/s

Richarda Duffy Momsen, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

/s/

Elaine S. Hengen, Senior Assistant City Attorney

## **EXHIBIT A**

## SPECIAL ELECTION PRECINCTS AND POLLING PLACES Run-off election, June 9, 2007

<u>PCT #</u>	POLLING PLACE	<u>ADDRESS</u>
93	Eastwood Recreation Center	3001 Parkwood Dr.
94	Eastpoint Elementary School	2400 Zanzibar St.
97	Pebble Hills Elementary School	11145 Edgemere Blvd.
98	Pebble Hills Elementary School	11145 Edgemere Blvd.
99	Fire Station #25	10834 Ivanhoe Dr.
100	YWCA – East	10712 Sam Snead Dr.
103	Indian Ridge Middle School	11201 Pebble Hills Blvd.
104	Glen Cove Elementary School	10955 Sam Snead Dr.
105	Hanks High School	2001 Lee Trevino Dr.
109	Jane Hambric Elementary School	3535 Nolan Richardson Dr.
110	Word of Life Church	11675 Pratt Dr.
111	Lujan Chavez Elementary School	2200 Sun Country Dr.
112	Benito Martinez Elementary School	2640 Robert Wynn Dr.
113	Benito Martinez Elementary School	2640 Robert Wynn Dr.
114	Helen Ball Elementary School	1950 Firehouse Dr.